IEAG Governing Committee

Co-convener – Heather Lear

Co-convener - Maree Kirk


Trish Grant, Giovanni Tiso, Rebekah Corlett, Stephanie Rolinson.

IEAG's Annual Report

IEAG's Annual Report was presented at the AGM on 10 May 2017 in Wellington. The report highlights IEAG's successes and accomplishments, as well as noting future plans and work still to be done. 

The 2017 Report to AGM 2017

The 2016 is now available

2014: Annual Report  and Financial Report  

2013: Annual Report and Financial Report

2012: Annual Report and Financial Report

2011:  Annual Report and Financial Report

Inclusive Education Action Group Launch

The Inclusive Education Action Group (IEAG) was launched by the Minister for Disability Issues Ruth Dyson in parliament in August 2007.


ruth dayson and metiria turei edited

Minister Ruth Dyson and Metiria Turei watch the young people's group perform

Around 100 people attended the launch. The event was co-hosted by Minister Ruth Dyson and Green Party spokesperson on education and disability issues Metiria Turei. Speakers were IEAG spokespeople Ian Armstrong and Kris Appleby, inclusive education expert and academic Roger Slee from McGill University in Canada, and IHC Director of Advocacy Trish Grant. A young people’s group finished off the event with a series of skits about what they feel about inclusive education.

Ian Armstrong spoke at the launch about his experiences both as a father and long-time campaigner for inclusive education. 

Download the text to his speech here.

roger slee edit

Roger Slee speaks at IEAG launch

Parent and IEAG spokesperson Kris Appleby, Dr Roger Slee and Dr Jude MacArthur were interviewed about inclusive education on Radio New Zealand National's Nine to Noon show on the day of the launch. The audio for this has now been removed from the Radio New Zealand site but you can purchase a copy from Replay Radio.

IEAG became incorporated in May 2008 and is a registered charity (CC38831) with IRD donee status. IEAG is a community-based organisation, with our constitution ensuring that the majority of people on our governing committee are people with a disability or a family member of a person with a disability. The governing committee is elected annually.